Pin Code - Rajasthan - District, Village, Pincode

What is the meaning of PINCODE ?

Zip code means Postal Index Number, The introduction of e-mail has reduced the circulation of letters, which has also limited the use of pin code. Since the time the courier services have started using the PIN code.

DISCLAIMER: We have collected this information from the India Post Department and tried to display the latest information. There might be some incorrect data.The content provided on this portal is sourced from the official website of India Post. We will not be accountable for any loss or damage occured by the use of content provided on this website. Please cross verify from India Postal Side before using it.


Postal Index Number Code or Zip Code is a system through which a specific location is given a specific numeric identity. There is a 6 digit number in the PIN code in India and it is sorted by the Indian postal department. The pin system was started on August 15, 1972.

Structure of PINCODE

India has 9-pin areas. The first digit of the pin code shows the area of the country and this area is located in the post office. The second digit shows the sub area, from the third digit indicate a particular district within the area and the last three digits are allocated to different postal zones. These numeric codes make post-sorting sorting very easy according to geographical area.

India has the following 9 pin zones:

PINCODE 1 - Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Chandigarh

PINCODE 2 - Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand

PINCODE 3 - Rajashtan, Gujarat,

PINCODE 4 - Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Madhya PRadesh, Goa

PINCODE 5 - Andhra Pradesh, Yanam ( Merger in Pondicherry U.T )

PINCODE 6 - Kerala, Tamilnadu, Puducherry ( Other then Yanam )

PINCODE 7 - West Bengal, Odisha, Asam, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands